Taça da Liga 2020/21 to feature just EIGHT teams

The Taça da Liga is drastically changing for the 2020/21 season, going from its usual 32 team format to just eight teams. The change comes after a majority vote at the general assembly. 32 teams voted in favour of a slimmed down Taça da Liga, two teams voted against.

The reduction in teams is an attempt to combat the fixture pile up caused by COVID-19. Less teams means less games and the tournament is able to complete quicker. The eight teams selected to play in the Taça da Liga will depend on league position in the last match week in November 2020. Those teams who sit in the top six in the Primeira Liga at the end of this match week and the top two sides from Liga Pro will be entered into the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.